Guns at school

Yesterday afternoon, my oldest daughter came home and informed me that she and her two brothers would not be going to school today. Since I know my daughter does not do anything without a lot of thought and consideration, I asked why before I started the ‘fight’.

My daughter went on to tell me that a student at their school had said that he was planning on bringing a gun to school. There was another student he was angry at and he wanted to take care of it.

My children go to a small catholic school in a farming community. The school holds less than 400 students.

I thought when we moved to the countryside that issues such as these would not follow us from the city. I thought that my children would be safer here.

I am assured by the vice principle that the matter has been taken care of. The boy who made the threat is not allowed back to school until a full investigation has been undertaken by the police. I am not that comforted.

I wonder how, in such a small, close knit community, things such as this can happen. What happened to this boy that he feels it is ‘ok’ to bring a gun to school to take care of his problems. Why hasnt’ his issues been dealt with prior to this?

All kids go through rough patches and voice frustration and anger at things that don’t go their way or people who have hurt their feelings. In my home, we discuss it. We talk about it. There is no subject that is taboo. My children have the knowledge that they can come to me with anything and know that I will listen and do my best to help if I can. Sometimes, all they want is for someone to listen. I try to be that person, but I let them know that no matter what, it is important to have someone to talk to even if it isn’t me, just so long as they talk.

I am not sure how I will assure them that they are safe to go back to school. I am not sure how I will be comfortable sending them off to school and not worry. So each day, I tell them I love them. I tell them they are smart, they are important, and they are worthwhile. Each day I make sure they go off into the world knowing they are loved and treated with respect, at least at home.

Diane

Leave a Reply

